Rose’s favorite actors and actresses and why

26 Oct

I have  a few moments to kill while I’m waiting to start work, and, what better place to express myself than my blog.  I made a new friend online, and, we’re having some rather interesting conversations.  Today I was posed “who are my favorite actors” and so here is my top 6 (three women and three men):

1. Audrey Hepburn. Yes, she is true old school, but, what made her great was charm and ability to really take on the character in a roll. She also carefully selected her roles, and, instead of actors of today who go for quantity, she went for quality. You’d be amazed how many people under 30 don’t even know who she is – and if I mention “Rome Holiday” or “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” as some of my favorite films, I often get confused looks as though I’m speaking Chinese and it’s almost always followed by the question “Who is Audrey Hepburn?” Followed by blank stares because (as already stated) most under 30 just don’t know her.

Is there any movie that says Audrey Hepburn more than "Breakfast at Tiffany's" - well maybe "Roman Holiday".

2. Cher. Surprised? Don’t be – there is a reason she won an Oscar for “Moonstruck”, she is an outstanding actress. Cher has the ability to change and morph with the times. Again, she is an actress that selects her roles carefully. One of her best movies (beyond “Moonstruck”) was in a film that received very little attention – “Tea with Mussolini“. Not only was it an outstanding cast, Cher once again showed her range as an actress.

Cher in character as "Elsa Morganthal Strauss-Armistan" in the wonderful (highly under rated) film "Tea with Mussolini"

3. Vanessa Williams. True, she may not be the best actress nor the prettiest woman out there, but, she is good. What I like about Vanessa Williams is her ability to take something bad and turn the situation around into a positive. How many other people could have been a disqualified Miss America, and, manage to overcome her negative public image and develop a singing and acting career that has now withstood the test of time. Pretty impressive in my book.

How many other people could have been a disqualified Miss America, and, manage to overcome her negative public image and develop a singing and acting career that has now withstood the test of time. That's why Vanessa Williams is pretty impressive in my book.

4. Gene Hackman. Perhaps one of Hollywood’s best, but, under rated actors. Think about his range of rolls from “The Birdcage” to “The French Connection” – the man has range! He can do it all from drama to comedy.

From "The Birdcage" to "The French Connection" - Gene Hackman has range! He can do it all from drama to comedy.

5. Keanu Reeves. Surprised? Yes, you probably are, but, there is a reason he has been acting so long. He’s good and he’s more than just the dude from “The Matrix” series. From silly (nearly moronic) movies such as “Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure” to a nearly unknown film called “A Walk in the Clouds” – he also demonstrates range. Sure he’s commercial, but, he also can act. Can’t beat that combination!

Keanu Reeves - he's more than just the dude from "The Matrix" series

6. Cary Grant. Again, another old school Hollywood actor who had both looks as well as talent. Talk about classic films – “North by Northwest” is a Cary Grant classic, and, yet few people under 30 know him or the movie. Or one of my favorites (especially since Audrey Hepburn co-stars with him) “Charade” .  The problem is that most people under 30 think “Charade” is a game you play at parties, and, don’t even realize it’s a classic movie.

Cary Grant. Again, another old school Hollywood actor who had both looks as well as talent.

So that’s my top 6 list.  I hope you enjoyed reading it and why I think believe these actors and actresses deserve the top spots on my list.

Wishing everyone a pleasant Tuesday!

