Surviving The Holidays

6 Dec

Somehow, and, I’m still scratching my head, I pulled off Thanksgiving.  My parents were happy.  Gary’s parents were happy.  Brothers, sisters, extended family and friends were all happy.  Go figure!  I thought my hosting Thanksgiving this year would turn into one of those stories of family legend.  I already had it playing out in my mind… “Remember the Thanksgiving when Rose almost burnt the house down” or “Remember the Thanksgiving Rose gave us all food poisoning!”  LOL  It’s amazing how we build things up in our minds and imagine the worst outcomes possible… To say I am happy and relieved is the understatement of the day!!  Fortunately, next year rotates back to my Mom so I’m off the hook for another 3 years 😀

Spirit of Season Shopping clipart by bergheimfollies.blogspot.com

Spirit of Season Shopping clipart by bergheimfollies.blogspot.com

And, now… The real work of the holidays begin.  We already have the tree up.  That’s one thing down and off the check list.  BUT….  I really haven’t started my serious Christmas shopping yet.  And, I am dreading it.  It’s funny how we (as a society) always joke about the holidays and shopping, but, there is more than a grain of truth to it all.  People pushing and shoving — even taking items right out from underneath you;  standing in long, long, long lines and it seems like EVERY single person ahead of you has some issue that takes 30 minutes to resolve.  It’s NOT fun.

So in just a short while, Gary and I will put on our brave faces, head out into the nippy winter air, and, fight the crowds that are everywhere this time of year in New York City, and, go Christmas shopping… Wish me luck!!

